A thrilling start to the 22nd Edition as Elisabeth Scharang’s »Jack« screened for the Opening Gala audience of 1,200 at the EWE Area. On the red carpet, international filmmakers included the 2015 Retrospective Honoree, American Rock ’n’ Roll rebel filmmaker George Armitage, who attended the Festival with his entire family. The Honorary Tribute was dedicated to the critically acclaimed Golden Globe winner Joanna Cassidy, who received the ninth Star of Excellence on the OLB Walk of Fame.

For the 2nd year, Oldenburg was again honored to host to the esteemed Jury of the European Film Academy who attended to deliberate and announce the five finalists for the ‘European Discovery Award’. And in the true spirit of discovery, Tom Sommerlatte - the winner of the 2015 German Independence Award for his debut feature »Summer Downstairs« – was also announced by the EFA Jury as a ‘Best Newcomer’ finalist for The European Discovery Award at the Closing Night Awards Ceremony.

Martijn De Jong’s »Vrij« won ‘Best Short Film’ in a category that included works from 2nd and 3rd generation filmmakers, Matthew Modine’s son, Boman, and Robert Redford’s grandson, Dylan. Sarah Silverman won the ‘Seymour Cassel Award’ for her Outstanding Performance by an actress in »I Smile Back«, and Nikola Rakocevic won best actor for his breakout role in Dusan Milic’s »Travelator«.


The Little Kingdom. Hollywood icon Deborah Kara Unger and festival director Torsten Neumann co-directed the trailer, an adaptation of a monologue from Shakespeare’s »Henry IV« recited by acting legend Stacey Keach. Filming took place in Los Angeles in association with Culprit Creative Inc. The production was supported by Kinematograph 24/7, Berliner Synchron and trickWILK.