For the 21st Edition, the Opening Ceremony was held at the EWE Arena. With an audience of over 1,000 attendees, the world premiere of Christian Frosch’s »Rough Road Ahead« marked the start to a successful festival.

The 2014 Honorary Retrospective was dedicated to Australian auteur and provocateur, Philippe Mora - who charmed Oldenburg audiences, as did 80s Hollywood icon, Sean Young, who received the eighth Star of Excellence on the OLB Walk of Fame.

Oldenburg was honored to host to the esteemed Jury of the European Film Academy who attended to deliberate and announce the five finalists for the ‘European Discovery Award’. EFA Chairwoman, Oscar-winner Agnieszka Holland, announced that Oldenburg was chosen as it’s »known for its heart for young filmmakers and for an inspiring and innovative environment.«

And discoveries ruled as the debut by Czech director Michal Samir »Hany« won the German Independence Award for ‘Best Film’ and Raphaël Neal received a Special Jury Award for his debut »Fever«. Victoria Schulz - the star of the Opening Night film »Rough Road Ahead« - won the ‘Seymour Cassel Award’ for her outstanding performance as the Festival came full circle.


The Wizards of Oldenburg. In 2014, the festival used a concept with local themes for its trailer, for the first time employing a documentary-style narrative. Torsten Neumann and Deborah Kara Unger co-directed, supported by Serbian cinematographer Irina Dragojevic, shot on eight different locations throughout the city in two days. Oldenburg’s Schwarzseher Film was a co-producer.